Filmfare Award Winners

Share on Facebook
Share on Twitter

The Filmfare Awards were full of dazzling stars, great hosts and amazing production numbers. Of course the highlight of the evening was the answer to the question, “Who would take home the black lady statue?” The night saw many films honored with Taare Zameen Par, Chak De India and Guru each coming away with 5 awards, as well as Life in a Metro,Saawariya and Om Shanti Om getting 3 a piece.

Chak De India had a great night winning Best Actor for Shahrukh Khan, Best Editing-Amitabh Shukla, Best Action-Rob Miller, Best Cinematography- Sudhip Chatterjee and Shimit Amin won the Critics’ Award For Best Film.

The Best Costumes category was won by Sujata Sharma for Gandhi My Father.

The favorite for best actress, Kareena Kapoor, did take home the prize for her role as Geet in Jab We Met and the wonderful dialogues penned by Imtiaz Ali were honored with the Best Dialogues award.

Konkana Sen Sharma and Irrfan Khan won both Best Supporting Actress and Actor for their roles in Life in a… Metro. The film also took home a big award with the Best Screenplay for Anurag Basu.

Tabu was awarded the Critics’ Award for Best Actress for her work in Cheeni Kum.

The Best Music and Best Background Score award went to A. R. Rahman for Guru. Guru also won Best Playback Singer (Female) Shreya Ghosal for ‘Barso Re’ and the choreography for ‘Barso Re’ by Saroj Khan received the Best Choreography award. Samir Chanda won Best Art Direction.

Some special awards were presented; Rishi Kapoor was honored with the Lifetime Achievement Award and the R. D. Burman Award for Most Promising Musical Talent was given to Monty Sharma for Saawariya.

As expected Ranbir Kapoor was again honored with the Best Debut (Male) for his performance in Saawariya and the film was also presented with the award for Best Playback Singer (Male) Shaan for ‘Jab Se Tere Naina’.

Deepika Padukone had a wonderful night winning both the Best Debut (Female) and the Sony Head N Shoulders Fresh Face of the Year awards.

The Best Special Effects prize went to Red Chillies Entertainment for Om Shanti Om.

Leslie Fernandes won Best Sound for Johnny Gaddaar.

Taare Zameen Par not only won Best Lyrics to Prasoon Joshi for ‘Maa’, but also garnered some of the biggest prizes of the evening: Darsheel Safary won the Critics’ Award For Best Actor, Amol Gupte for Best Story, Best Director went to Aamir Khan and the critically acclaimed film took home the biggest award of the evening, Best Film.

Bollyspice congratulates all the winners! Be sure to check back soon because we will have report on how well our journalists did picking the winners.

17 queries in 1.016 seconds.