Max Stardust Trophies Awarded!

Share on Facebook
Share on Twitter

Award season is in full bloom and on Sunday the winners of the 2009 Max Stardust Awards received their shiny trophies. Hosted by Tusshar Kapoor and Manisha Lamba, who also danced to some tunes, the thrilling night also saw Amisha Patel, Neetu Chandra, Priyanka Chopra and Anil Kapoor light up the stage! The night was full of stars! So, who took home the prize? Read on to see!

In the Superstar of Tomorrow categories Asin was a surprise but well deserved winner for her performance in Ghajini and Farhan Akhtar was once again praised for his outstanding debut in Rock On!!.

Ghajini also took home the statues for Hottest New Film and Hottest New Filmmaker for A.R. Murugadoss.

The huge hit Jaane Tu Ya Jaane Na was honored with several awards including recognition for both Prateik Babbar and Manjari Phadnis in the
Breakthrough Performance categories. Benny Dayal’s spirited rendition of ‘Pappu Can’t Dance Saala’ from the JTYJN soundtrack was named the the New Musical sensation-Male.

In other music awards, Anmol Malik won the New Musical Sensation – Female for ‘Talli’ from Ugly Aur Pagli. The Standout Performance by a Music Director was Dhruv Ghanekar for Drona and Standout Performance by a Lyricist was won by Kausar Munir for the song ‘Falak Tak Chal’ from Tashan.

The night also saw the trophies being presented to the winners of categories that were chosen by a poll voted on by readers and fans. Hrithik Roshan won Star of the Year for his incredible performance in Jodhaa Akbar,while the director Ashutosh Gorwariker was named Dream Director for his work on the magnificent film.

Fashion was also honored by fans by winning two awards. Priyanka Chopra was named Star of the Year for her outstanding performance and Kangana Ranaut won Best Actress in a Supporting Role for her amazing work in the hit film.

As for Best Actor in a Supporting Role Tusshar Kappor won for Golmaal Returns.

The Best Actor in a Negative Role was given to Anil Kapoor for Tashan. Anil was also honored with a Special Award for his work in Slumdog Millionaire: “For Being The First Mainstream Indian Actor To Take India To Hollywood And Winning Global Recognition”.

Readers named Singh Is Kinng as the Best Film of 2009.

Real life loves Saif Ali Khan and Kareena Kapoor were named the Style Icons of the Year.

Other awards given out were Shirya Saran from Mission Istanbul was named the Exciting New Face and the New Menace is Nikitin Dheer for his evilness in Jodhaa Akbar.

Two special awards were given out to honor their magnificent work in the Hindi film industry. Dev Anand was recognized for his Outstanding Contribution to Indian Cinema and Feroz Khan was named Pride of the Industry.

The Editors Choice for Best Director went to Abhishek Kapoor for his amazing work on the superhit Rock On!!.

In the Stardust Searchlight awards winners categories: A Wednesday! took home the two of the big prizes of the evening Best Film and Best Director for Neeraj Pandey.

Amrita Rao received the Best Actress Award for her quiet and nuanced performance in Welcome to Sajjanpur.

Last but not least, the Best Actor Award went to Amitabh Bachchan for his deep and rich performance in the small film The Last Lear. Amitabh said, “I am so happy for the Makers & the Director – Planman & Rituparno Ghosh; for the faith in the Film & the courage to make something away from the norm.” Producer Arindam Chaudhuir was very excited saying, “When you make films that challenge the boundaries of film making, awards become a very important part of recognition. I am obviously very happy and excited. During the entire shoot, for me it was like a young fan watching his favourite star perform! And I feel proud to be associated with one of his career best performances”. With the screen award for best Indian film in English, the Stardust award for best actor, perhaps it’s now over to the National awards next!”

BollySpice congratulates all the winners!

106 queries in 1.782 seconds.