Saif, Lara and Darsheel win Rajiv Gandhi Awards

Share on Facebook
Share on Twitter

Bollywood actors Saif Ali Khan, Lara Dutta, and Darsheel Safary are amongst the winners for this year’s Rajiv Gandhi Awards for their contribution to Hindi Cinema. Previous award winners include Salman Khan, Shilpa Shetty, Aishwarya Rai, Shahrukh Khan, Ajay Devgan, Rani Mukherjee, Hrithik Roshan and Akshay Kumar.

WWE wrestler The Great Khali will also be awarded a ‘Super Achiever Wrestler par Excellence Trophy.’ This fine young man of 387lbs (174kg) is a power lifter with extensive experience in serious wrestling styles such as Graeco-Roman, aikido, judo and kalari – as well as entertainment-oriented styles such as Japanese Pro and WWE. A former Punjabi policeman, he was Mr India in 1997 and 1998. He will soon be seen in the movie Ramaa – The Saviour with Tanushree Dutta and Sahil Khan.

38-year-old Saif Ali Khan is one of Bollywood’s top actors. Educated at Winchester College in the UK, he is the son of former Indian cricket captain, the Nawab of Pataudi and Bollywood actress Sharmila Tagore, and the brother of Soha Ali Khan. Amongst his many outstanding performances, we must include Omkara, Parineeta, Dil Chahta Hai, Kal Ho Naa Ho, Hum Tum, Being Cyrus, Eklavya, Race and will soon be heard but not seen in the animated feature Roadside Romeo.

30-year-old Lara Dutta is a former Miss Universe, a UNFPA Goodwill Ambassador and an Economics graduate. She is internationally recognised for her work in promoting the rights of perinatal women and also finds time to be a Bollywood movie star with fine performances in Andaaz, Elaan, No Entry, Dosti:Friends Forever, Jhoom Barabar Jhoom and Partner. She will soon be seen in Blue and Billo Barber.

Child aritste Darsheel Safary stunned critics and audiences alike with his incredible debut performance in Taare Zameen Par.

Salman Khan and Kareena Kapoor will perform at the Rajiv Gandhi Awards show on August 17th this year, two days after Independence Day. Rakhi Sawant will also be performing an eagerly awaited patriotic act!

22 queries in 0.938 seconds.