Shilpa Shetty to be honored with Rajiv Gandhi Award

Share on Facebook
Share on Twitter

Shilpa Shetty has been bestowed with another prestigious honor. On August 12th Shetty will receive the Rajiv Gandhi National Quality Award, which is awarded to people and organizations that “strive for excellence and to those who are considered to be the leaders of quality movement in India.”

A grand ceremony will be held at the National Center for The Performing Arts in Mumbai and several notable people are expected to attend including; Prime Minister Dr. Manmohan Singh, Sonia Gandhi the leader of Congress party, Pranab Mukherjee the Union Minister of External Affairs, and Vilasrao Deshmukh the Chief Minister of Maharashtra.

The award was named after India’s Late Prime Minister Rajiv Gandhi, recognizing his support of the quality movement in India. Other prominent recipients of this award are Mukesh Ambani, Kumar Mangalam Birla, Adi Godrej, Anand Mahindra, Sunil Mittal, Kiran Mazumdar Shaw, Sant Singh Chatwal, Shah Rukh Khan, Tarun Tejpal, Rajdeep Sardesai, Sania Mirza and Sachin Tendulkar.

Dale Bhagwagar, Shetty’s spokesperson said, “To be a worldwide achiever at such a young age; bestowed with flattering accolades, is a matter of utmost prestige for Shilpa. She is extremely grateful to be chosen for this honour.”

80 queries in 0.617 seconds.