Special Report: The Lebara Mobile Asian Music Awards Nominations 2012 Launch Party

Share on Facebook
Share on Twitter

BollySpice were invited to an exclusive VIP event for the The Lebara Mobile Asian Music Awards Nominations launch party. The event took place last week on Wednesday 12th September, in London, to announce which artists have made it onto the nominations list.

BollySpice is proud to support the Asian Music Awards and rising local Asian talent. This year international artists Jay Sean and MIA led the nominations making it into two categories; Best Male and Best Female and the two are both nominated for Best Video prize.

Nokia’s Unsigned artists Kishen, RaOool and Amanjot Sangha performed at the event with the winner of the Nokia Unsigned prize being announced as 17 year old Amanjot Sangha. Sharing her excitement Amanjot told us, “I honestly can’t believe I have won this amazing prize. Any girl who dreams of being a singer would dream of performing at Wembley Arena, a place where I’ve seen my idols perform year after year.”

Preeya Kalidas (Best Female), Gurdas Mann (Best International Act and album) and Naughty Boy (Best Producer) also made it onto the nominations list.

The Lebara Mobile Asian Music Awards are set to take place in Wembley Arena on October 25th 2012. The awards ceremony that celebrates its 10th year is set to have performances by a number of artists including Bollywood singer Rahat Fateh Ali Khan.

As always BollySpice will be there to cover the event, bring you exclusive interviews and take you behind the scenes.

For now do check out our exclusive interview from the Nominations launch party with Mumzy Stranger.

The full nominations can be read below:

Best Male
Jay Sean
Ash King
Garry Sandhu
Jazzy B

Best Female
Preeya Kalidas
Nindy Kaur
Tasha Tah
Kanika Kapoor

Best Album
Sukshinder Shinda – Rock the Party
JK – Gabru Panjab Dha
PBN – Me, Myself and Music
Panjabi Hit Squad – World Famous
Aman Hayer – The Entourage

Best Desi Act
Garry Sandhu
DJ Sanj
Sukshinder Shinda

Best Newcomer
Junai Kaden
Shide Boss
Kanika Kapoor
Romy Shay

Best Video
Jay Sean – I’m All Yours
MIA – Bad Girls
Preeya Kalidas – Love Between Us
RDB – Sach Gal
Foji – Pumbeeri

Best Urban Act
Metz & Trix
Roach Killa
Mumzy Stranger

Best Producer
Naughty Boy
Surinder Rattan
Dr Zeus
DJ Sanj

Best Club DJ
Jags Klimax
DJ Kayper
Panjabi Hit Squad
DJ Fricktion

Best Radio Show
Noreen Khan – Asian Network
Nihal – Radio 1
Sunny and Shay – BBC London
Bobby Friction – Asian Network
Neev – Kiss 100

Best International Album
Yo Yo Honey Singh – International Villager
Miss Pooja – Breathless
Amrinder Gill – Judaa
Gurdas Maan – Jogiya
Satinder Satraaj – Cheery Wala

Best International Act
Rahat Fateh Ali Khan
Yo Yo Honey Singh
Shreya Goshal
Gurdaas Mann
Mika Singh

Best Alternative Act
Nitin Sawhney
Asian Dub Foundation
Niraj Chag
Raghu Dixit

With contributions by Meera Sharma and Anjum Shabbir

Share on Facebook
Share on Twitter
109 queries in 0.775 seconds.