Taare Zameen Par and Chak De! India Big Winners

Share on Facebook
Share on Twitter

The awards season started off with a bang at a glittering star filled event for the Star Screen Awards. The ceremony was hosted by Sajid Khan and performers included Shahid Kapoor, Katrina Kaif, Urmila Matondkar, Riteish Deshmukh and Dia Mirza. Shah Rukh Khan also thrilled the audience by performing ‘Dard-e-Disco’ from Om Shanti Om. The night saw awards given to several different films with Taare Zameen Par and Chak De! India garnering the most accolades.

Taare Zameen Par, was the biggest winner of the night taking home 6 awards including: Best Story and Best Dialogue: Amole Gupte, Best Lyrics: Prasoon Joshi for his beautiful song ‘Maa’, Best Supporting Actor: Aamir Khan, Best Child Artiste: Darsheel Safary and Best Director which Aamir shared with Shimit Amin for Chak De! India.

It was also a very good night for Chak De! India, besides winning Best Director, the film also took home the trophies for: Best Supporting Actress or in this case actresses: the Chak De India girls, their coach Shah Rukh Khan won for Best Actor and the film took home the biggest prize of the night Best Film.

Another SRK starrer, Om Shanti Om, took home 3 awards. Deepika Padukone was honored with the Most Promising Newcomer (Female) for her performance. Plus, she along Shah Rukh Khan also won Best Jodi of the Year. Farah Khan’s choreography for Dhoom Tana took home the trophy as the best.

The Best Actress Award went to Kareena Kapoor for her outstanding performance as Geet in Jab We Met.

Best Actor in a Negative Role was Pankaj Kapur for The Blue Umbrella and Best Actor in a Comic Role was given to Irfaan Khan for his role in Life… In A Metro.

Life… in a Metro also brought home two more awards; Anurag Basu won for Best Screenplay and Soham won Best Playback Singer (Male) for ‘In Dino’.

Genius AR Rahman won for Best Music for Guru and from that same soundtrack Shreya Ghoshal was named Best Playback Singer (Female) for ‘Barso Re’.

Ranbir Kapoor’s superb performance in Saawariya was honored with the Most Promising Newcomer (Male) award.

The night also had some special awards with Manoj Kumar being given a Lifetime Achievement Award. Two Critics awards were also presented and they went to Tabu for Cheeni Kum and for his outstanding performance in TZP the critics honored Child Artiste Darsheel Safary as Best Actor.

Bollyspice congratulates all the winners!

We will have a tally on how our team of journalists did on their choices for the awards and how good Razeen was at predicting the winners so check back here soon!

24 queries in 0.982 seconds.