The winners for the National Awards for 2007 have been announced!

Share on Facebook
Share on Twitter

The 55th annual National Award winner’s list has been announced. Established in 1954, this prestigious award is given to outstanding work in film not only in Hindi cinema but in all the film industries in India. The awards cover not only the typical categories but also recognize work in categories like Best First film for a director, Best Popular Film Providing Wholesome Entertainment, and Best Feature Film on National Integration to name just a few. The big winner of the night was Priyadarsan’s Tamil film Kanchivaram, which won the Best Film Prize. “For presenting a rare portrayal of Kanchi’s silk weaver community, and the internal struggle of a weaver caught between his ideals and personal dreams. A vibrant story and technical excellence blend to create a total cinematic experience.” Priyadasan told Subhash K Jha, “Can you believe, in my career of 25 years as film director this is the first time I’ve won an award? And that I’ve won it for Kanchivaram is a very special thing for me. This film is very close to my heart.” The film also won the Best Actor Award for Prakash Jha, “For his sensible multilayered portrayal of a weaver caught in a web of silken threads, woven by destiny.”

Best director went to Adoor Gopalakrishnan for his Malayalam film Naalu Pennungal and Best Actress went to Umashree for “A heart rending portrayal of the sorry plight of a wronged woman belonging to a minority community surrounded by an uncaring and hostile society” in the Kannada film Gulabi Talkies

Though Hindi films did not take home the big prizes they were very well represented.

Darshan Jariwala was honored with the Best Supporting Actor award for his portrayal of Gandhi in Gandhi my Father, “For truthfully portraying the angst of a great historical figure – Mahatma Gandhi. The Father of the Nation stands defeated in his personal relationship with his own son.” Gandhi My Father also took home 2 other National awards including Best Screenplay for Feroz Abbas Khan and a Special Jury Award.

Rituparno Ghosh’s English film The Last Lear which starred Amitabh Bachchan and Arjun Rampal was given the Best Feature Film in English. “A brilliant and visually stunning work of cinema on the life of a reclusive Shakespearian actor, well past his prime. His whimsical and passionate persona makes him a memorable and loveable character.” For her performance as Vandana Shefali Shah was named Best Supporting Actress.

Chak De! India was named Best Popular Film Providing Wholesome Entertainment: “For thoroughly entertaining the audience, making one proud to be an Indian. A masterpiece of inspired filmmaking.”

Aamir Khan’s Taare Zameen Par also took home some awards including Best Film on Family Welfare: “For realistically depicting the psychological dialectic between an ordinary family driving their children to educational excellence, thereby neglecting their specially gifted child dealing with the problem of dyslexia in isolation.” Shankar Madhevan won for his beautiful rendition of the song ‘Maa’ and the title song ‘Taare Zammen Par’ won Best Lyrics. Mahadevan told IANS, “I am feeling extremely proud. National awards are among the most prestigious awards and this is my third. I owe it to the entire team – Prasoon (Joshi), Aamir (Khan), Amol Gupte, my partners Ehsaan and Loy with whom I composed this song – it’s everybody’s effort.”

“For powerfully bringing forth the message that humanity is of much greater value than religion. The transformation of an orthodox and superstitious priest is very beautifully depicted.” Dharm directed by Bhavna Talwar was given the Nargis Dutt Award for Best Feature Film on National Integration. Talwar said to IANS, “I am feeling extremely honoured, humble and at the same time very ecstatic especially considering that this is my debut film. This is way beyond what I had even imagined. I am deeply touched… Dharm has finally got its due.”

Jab We Met also garnered two awards including Best Choreography for ‘Yeh Ishq Hai’ and Shreya Ghoshal was named Best Female Playback Singer, “For her mellifluous voice and rich tonal quality. Her rendition evokes the beauty of nature through its subtle nuances.”

Om Shanti Om was recognized with the Best Art Direction award for the 1970’s sets:”For creating authentic film settings of 1970s and recreating them in a dilapidated condition a generation later.”

Best Feature Film in Hindi went to 1971 directed by Amrit Sagar.

As well as Hindi, Tamil and Malayalam movies the National Awards also recognized work in the Marathi, Bengali, and Kannada film industries. The non-feature film awards as well as the 2 awards for Best Writing on Cinema were also announced.

BollySpice congratulates all the winners!

24 queries in 0.949 seconds.