First Look Poster of Ugly – Anurag Kashyap’s official entry to Cannes

Share on Facebook
Share on Twitter

The official poster of Anurag Kashyap’s next film ‘Ugly’ is out. The film has been selected for Directors’ Fortnight – an independent section held in parallel to the Cannes Film Festival.

‘Ugly’ features Ronit Roy, Tejaswini Kolhapure, Vinit Kumar Singh Vipin Sharma in pivotal roles. Written and directed by Anurag Kashyap, the film is dark psychological thriller on the surface and emotional drama within.

Produced by Phantom Films and DAR Motion Pictures, the films will premiere at Cannes Film Festival 2013.



Bose, an extremely straight-forward person, is an Additional Commissioner of Police. It is only in his private life that these lines get blurred, especially with the way he treats his wife Shalini. Shalini is a clinically depressed person and an alcoholic. Bose is Shalini’s second husband. Shalini was first married to Rahul and also has a daughter with him, (Kali). Rahul is a struggling actor who is still looking for his big break. Our story starts on a Saturday which is the day Rahul is allowed to meet Kali as per court custody arrangements. Rahul picks up his daughter and takes her to his friend Chaitanya’s house in order to collect a casting script from him. Kali is very upset with him for sidelining her again and refuses to get out of the car. Rahul eventually leaves her in the car, from where she goes missing.

What follows is an endless series of blame game and one-upmanship. The film follows a journey where it is difficult to judge who is real and who is fake. In their process of humiliating one and another the characters go through a series of events which not only shows the degradation of their personal lives but also shows how truly self-involved they are. A dark psychological thriller on the surface, Ugly is an emotional drama within.

Starring: Ronit Roy, Rahul Bhat, Tejaswini Kolhapure, Vineet Kumar Singh, Surveen Chawala, Siddhant Kapoor, Anshika Shrivastava, Girish Kulkarni 
Casting Director: Mukesh
Costume Design: Divya
Art Director: Mayur Sharma
Action: Sham Kaushal
Sound Design: Mandar Kulkarni
Editor: Aarti Bajaj
Background Score: Brian Mcomber
Music: G. V. Prakash Kumar
Lyrics: Gaurav Solanki
Cinematography: Nikos Andritsakis
Co-Producers: Vivek Agrawal & Shahnaab Alam
Produced By: Madhu Mantena, Vikas Bahl, Vikramaditya Motwane, Arun Rangachari and Vivek Rangachari
Written & Directed By: Anurag Kashyap

Marketing: Ranjan Singh (Phantom Films), Aarti Jadhav (Dar Motion Pictures)

Share on Facebook
Share on Twitter
108 queries in 0.789 seconds.