IIFA Nominations Announced and Bhaag Milkha Bhaag leads with 10!

Share on Facebook
Share on Twitter

L-R Ranjit Yadav (President - Passenger Vehicles Business Unit - Tata Motors), Kareena Kapoor Khan & Peter Haas (US Consul General) release the nominations for the Tata Motors IIFA Awards20th February, 2014 – Indian Cinema’s most spectacular awards outside of India, The Tata Motors International Indian Film Academy (IIFA) Awards have declared the list of nominations (Popular category) for its 15th edition. The Videocon D2H IIFA Weekend will be held in Tampa Bay, Florida from April 23-26.

2013 was a fantastic year at the Box-office. Amongst the major films of the year, bagging a maximum number of nods is the inspiring biopic of Milkha Singh, Bhaag Milkha Bhaag followed closely by the gun-fest, Goliyon Ki Rasleela- Ramleela and the heart-wrenching Aashiqui 2 with 7 nominations each, while the Ranbir Kapoor starrer – Yeh Jawaani Hai Deewaani scored 6 nominations. Other notable films: Krrish 3, Chennai Express, Kai Po Che and The Lunchbox have been nominated across various award categories.

It is a battle of superstars at the awards, as Shah Rukh Khan (Chennai Express), Hrithik Roshan (Krrish 3), Ranbir Kapoor (Yeh Jawaani Hai Deewaani), Farhan Akhtar (Bhaag Milka Bhaag), Ranveer Singh (Goliyon Ki Rasleela-Ramleela) and newcomer Sushant Singh Rajput (Kai Po Che) get nominated for Performance in a Leading Role (Male) for exceptional work in their respective films.

Stealing the limelight is the very beautiful Deepika Padukone with 3 nominations in Performance in a Leading Role (Female) category for her perfomance in last year’s smash hits Chennai Express, Goliyon Ki Rasleela- Ramleela and Yeh Jawaani Hai Deewaani. Equally impressive performers, Sonakshi Sinha (Lootera), Nimrat Kaur (The Lunchbox) and Shraddha Kapoor (Aashiqui 2) find themselves nominated in the category, as well.

Best Director nominees include a host of celebrated filmmakers like Sanjay Leela Bhansali, Rakesh Roshan, Rohit Shetty, Rakeysh Omprakash Mehra and Abhishek Kapoor. One of the most awaited awards, the Best Film category witnesses 2013’s runway success’s Dhoom 3, Yeh Jawaani Hai Deewani, Goliyon Ki Rasleela-Ramleela, Krrish 3, Kai Po Che, Chennai Express and Bhaag Milkha Bhaag, as they compete to win the much coveted title.

The Videocon D2H IIFA Weekend is presented by Videocon D2H and the Tata Motors IIFA Awards is presented by Tata Motors. The IIFA Weekend &Awards will be broadcast globally on Star Plus, for the 10th year running.

And the full list of nominees are….

Best Picture
Dhoom 3– Aditya Chopra
Yeh Jawaani Hai Deewani-Karan Johar
Goliyon Ki Rasleela-Ramleela-Kishore Lulla & Sanjay Leela Bhansali
Krrish 3-Rakesh Roshan
Kai Po Che-Ronnie Screwvala & Siddharth Roy Kapoor
Chennai Express-Ronnie Screwvala,Siddharth Roy Kapoor, Gauri Khan & Karim Morani
Bhaag Milkha Bhaag-Viacom 18 Motion Pictures & Rakeysh Omprakash Mehra

Abhishek Kapoor:Kai Po Che
Rakesh Roshan:Krrish 3
Rakeysh Omprakash Mehra:Bhaag Milkha Bhaag
Rohit Shetty;Chennai Express
Sanjay Leela Bhansali:Goliyon Ki Rasleela- Ramleela

Performance in a Leading Role (Male)
Farhan Akhtar:Bhaag Milkha Bhaag
Hrithik Roshan:Krrish 3
Ranbir Kapoor:Yeh Jawaani Hai Deewani
Ranveer Singh:Goliyon Ki Rasleela-Ramleela
Shahrukh Khan:Chennai Express
Sushant Singh Rajput:Kai Po Che

Perfomance in a Leading Role (Female)
Deepika Padukone:Chennai Express
Deepika Padukone:Goliyon Ki Rasleela- Ramleela
Deepika Padukone:Yeh Jawaani Hai Deewani
Nimrat Kaur:The Lunchbox
Shraddha Kapoor:Aashiqui 2
Sonakshi Sinha:Lootera

Performance in a Supporting Role (Male)
Aditya Roy Kapoor:Yeh Jawaani Hai Deewani
Anupam Kher:Special 26
Nawazuddin Siddiqui:The Lunchbox
Pawan Malhotra:Bhaag Milkha Bhaag
Saurabh Shukla:Jolly LLB

Performance in a Supporting Role (Female)
Divya Dutta:Bhaag Milkha Bhaag
Kalki Koechlin:Yeh Jawaani Hai Deewani
Kangana Ranaut:Krrish 3
Richa Chadda:Goliyon Ki Rasleela-Ramleela
Shruti Hassan:D Day
Swara Bhaskar:Raanjhanaa

Performance in a Comic Role
Arshad Warsi:Jolly LLB
Riteish Deshmukh:Grand Masti
Varun Sharma:Fukrey

Performance in a Negative Role
Rishi Kapoor:D-Day
Rishi Kapoor:Aurangzeb
Supriya Pathak:Goliyon Ki Rasleela- Ramleela
Vivek Oberoi:Krrish 3

Music Direction
Mithoon, Ankit Tiwari,Jeet Ganguly:Aashiqui 2
Pritam:Yeh Jawaani Hai Deewani
Shankaar – Ehsaan – Loy:Bhaag Milkha Bhaag

Best Story
Prasoon Joshi:Bhaag Milkha Bhaag
Pubali Chaudhuri, Abhishek Kapoor & Chetan Bhagat:Kai Po Che
Ritesh Batra:The Lunchbox

Mithoon-‘Tum Hi Ho’:Aashiqui 2
Prasoon Joshi-‘O Rangrez’:Bhaag Milkha Bhaag
Sandeep Nath-‘Sunn Raha Hai’:Aashiqui 2

Playback Singer (Male)
Ankit Tiwari-‘Sunn Rahai Hai’:Aashiqui 2
Arijit Singh-‘Tum Hi Ho’:Aashiqui 2
Siddharth Mahadevan-‘Zinda’:Bhaag Milkha Bhaag

Playback Singer (Female)
Bhoomi Trivedi-‘Ram Chahe Leela’:Goliyon Ki Rasleela – Ramleela
Monali Thakur-‘Sawaar Loon’:Lootera
Shreya Ghoshal-‘Sunn Raha Hai’:Aashiqui 2
Shreya Ghoshal-‘O Rangrez’:Bhaag Milkha Bhaag

107 queries in 1.405 seconds.