Micromax IIFA Awards 2010 announces the Technical Award winners

Share on Facebook
Share on Twitter

Mumbai, May 10, 2010: The International Indian Film Academy (IIFA) declared today the winners of the technical award categories for IIFA AWARDS 2010. It was indeed ‘Aal izz Well’ for 3 Idiots who emerged front runners for the honours, winning 8 of the categories of the technical awards. Sujoy Ghosh’s, Aladin and the Saif Ali Khan and Deepika Padukone starrer, Love Aaj Kal also garnered 2 awards each. The awards will be presented to the winners at the 11th IIFA Awards that will be held on 5th June 2010 in Colombo, Sri Lanka.

3 Idiots clearly managed to uphold its position with Abhijat Joshi, Rajkumar Hirani & Vidhu Vinod Chopra taking the award for the Best Screenplay, C.K. Muraleedharan ISC for Best Cinematography, followed by Rajukumar Hirani and Abhijat Joshi for Best Dialogue, Sanjay Wandrekar, Atul Raninga & Shantanu Moitra for Best Background Score and Rajkumar Hirani for Best Editing. To add to the feathers in its cap, the movie won Best Sound Recording – Bishwadeep Chatterjee & Nihal Ranjan Samal, Best Song Recording – Bishwadeep Chatterjee & Sachi K Sanghvi and the Best Sound Re-recording by Anup Dev.

The popular dance moves from Love Aaj Kal won Bosco Caesar the Best Choreography Award, while the Best Costume Designing went to Anahita Shroff & Dolly Ahluwalia, for the same movie. Sabu Cyril got the Best Art Direction and Charles Darby (Eyecube Labs) won Best Special Effects (Visual) for Aladin. Sham Kaushal was favoured with the Best Action Award for Kaminey and undoubtedly deserving was the Best Makeup Award to international make-up artists, Christien Tinsley & Dominie Till for Paa.

The winners were chosen based on an industry voting for the IIFA Awards 2010, held in March. The auditing firm of the IIFAs and the Oscars, PriceWaterhouse Coopers, audited the results of this industry voting. However, the voting for the popular award categories will go live on www.iifa.com, today and will end on 1st June, 2010. The winners decided by online voting will be announced only on the night of the Micromax IIFA Awards 2010, in Colombo.

IIFA has journeyed through three continents covering cities like London, Sun City, Malaysia, Johannesburg, Singapore, Amsterdam, Dubai, Yorkshire, Bangkok and Macau, where it celebrated its decade of magic last year. Right through its 10 years, IIFA has been successful directing its efforts to achieving its’One People; One World’ by building bridges between countries, people, businesses and cinema. It has been able to expand the Indian Cinema and its cultures to the global market and has also given the Indian cinematic fraternity a whole new place at the international forefront. As the IIFAs enters its second decade, with the 11th Videocon IIFA Weekend, this celebration at the Sughathadasa Indoor Stadium, in Colombo, Sri Lanka from 3rd – 5th March, 2010, looks promising yet again.


Cinematography – C.K.Muraleedharan ISC – 3 Idiots

Screenplay – Abhijat Joshi, Rajkumar Hirani & Vidu Vinod Chopra – 3 Idiots

Dialogue – Rajkumar Hirani & Abhijat Joshi – 3 Idiots

Editing – Rajkumar Hirani – 3 Idiots

Art Direction – Sabu Cyril – Aladin

Choreography – Boscoe Caesar – Love Aaj Kal

Action – Sham Kaushal – Kaminey

Sound Recording – Bishwadeep Chatterjee & Nihal Ranjan Samal – 3 Idiots

Song Recording – Bishwadeep Chatterjee & Sachin K Sanghvi – 3 Idiots

Sound Re-recording – Anup Dev – 3 Idiots

Special Effects ( Visual) – Charles Darby(Eyecube Labs) – Aladin

Background Score – Sanjay Wandrekar,Atul Raninga & Shantanu Moitra – 3 Idiots

Costume Designing – Anahita Shroff & Dolly Ahluwalia Tiwari – Love Aaj Kal

Make- Up – Christien Tinsley & Dominie Till – Paa

81 queries in 0.544 seconds.