NYIFF 2011 Awards Winners!

Share on Facebook
Share on Twitter

Capping off five days of Indian cinematic excellence, the 11th Annual New York Indian Film Festival came to a close in grand fashion on May 8 with the spectacular Closing Night red carpet premiere of Rituparno Ghosh’s powerful film Noukadubi which was attended by Rishi Kapoor, Neetu Singh Kapoor, Salman Rushdie, Mira Nair, Aparna Sen, Madhur Jaffrey, Ambassador Prakash Shah, Consul General Prabhu Dayal, and many other notable celebrities. Following the premiere at Asia Society in Manhattan was the festival’s annual awards ceremony. The winners are listed below.

Best Feature FilmSthaniya Sambaad (Spring in the Colony), directed by Arjun Gourisaria & Moinak Biswas

Best Director – Aparna Sen, Iti Mrinalini

Best Actor – Rishi Kapoor, Do Dooni Chaar

Best Actress – Konkona Sen Sharma, Iti Mrinalini

Best Screenplay – Mohan Raghavan, T.D. Dasan Std. VI B

Best DocumentaryBhopali (Max Carlson)

Best Short FilmJust That Sort Of A Day (Abhay Kumar)

Stay tuned because we are going to have a full report of the red carpet and the Awards ceremony!

(L-R) Presenter Neetu Singh Kapoor and Best Actor winner Rishi Kapoor (Do Dooni Chaar)

Best Director winner Aparna Sen (Iti Mrinalini).

Credit: MichaelToolan.com

81 queries in 0.725 seconds.