Rahman, Niigaam and Sachin Tendulkar at The Asian Awards 2010

Share on Facebook
Share on Twitter

The Asian Awards 2010, in partnership with Lebara, is the first of its kind event celebrating achievement and excellence among South Asians from around the world. To be held on October 26th at the Grosvenor House Hotel, Park Lane London, The Asian Awards 2010 has already confirmed a calibre of guest unlike any other Asian event before it: Yash Chopra, Sachin Tendulkar, AR Rahman along with Vijay Mallya – Owner of United Breweries, Kingfisher Airlines and Force India F1 team, Gurinder Chadha – Director of Bend It Like Beckham, Sir Richard Stagg – High Commissioner to the UK and Lord Sebastian Coe – Olympic gold medalist and Chairman of the London Organising Committee for the Olympic Games.

Also lending his support in the judging panel is Lord Alan Sugar. With leading figures in business, film, sport and politics giving their full support to the inaugural Asian Awards 2010, make this prestigious celebration of international South Asian excellence one of the most important awards ceremonies to launch this year.

Caroline Jackson Levy, managing director of UBM Awards, said: “We have been overwhelmed by the incredible response to the Asian Awards- it is quite simply an honour to have the support of some of the world’s greatest achievers.” The nominees and winners are individuals who parallel the achievements of great and iconic figures of the past; world-changers whose creativity touches enrich and inspire us in our daily lives.

Legendary playback singer and songwriter Sonu Niigaam has also confirmed that he will couple his personal appearance at the awards with a rare live performance. Amitabh Bachchan will also receive a lifetime achievement award.

Also as we reported earlier, there is also the coveted Lebara People’s Choice Award. Nominated in that category are AR Rahman, Amitabh Bachchan, Jay Sean, Lata Mangeshkar, Sachin Tendulkar and Shah Rukh Khan.

The Asian Awards 2010 is a collaboration between United Business Media and businessman Paul Sagoo. The awards also support Save the Children as its official charity.

81 queries in 0.550 seconds.